University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut

Faculty Affiliates

If you are interested in being an affiliated faculty member, please contact Carl Coelho.

Lastname Firstname Department Email 2015-2016 Steering Committee Emeritus Advisor to CogSci Grad Students Research Specialties
Altmann Gerry Psychology gerry.altmann@uconn.edu X X Adult language processing, the influence of context on sentence comprehension, event comprehension, the interface between language and vision
Bar-On Dorit Linguistics dorit.bar-on@uconn.edu X Philosophy of language and mind; origins of language; theory of mind; pragmatics/semantics
Bar-Shalom Eva Linguistics eva.bar-shalom@uconn.edu X
Bobaljik Jonathan Linguistics jonathan.bobaljik@uconn.edu X Morphology, Syntax, Endangered Languages
Bontly Thomas Philosophy thomas.bontly@uconn.edu X Philosophy of mind, philosophy of science
Boskovic Zeljko Linguistics zeljko.boskovic@uconn.edu X Linguistics (Syntax)
Calabrese Andrea Linguistics andrea.calabrese@uconn.edu X
Carello Claudia Psychology claudia.carello@uconn.edu X Ecological approach to perception and action
Chrobak James Psychology james.chrobak@uconn.edu X
Coelho Carl Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences carl.coelho@uconn.edu X X  Discourse, acquired language disorders
Coppola Marie Psychology; Linguistics marie.coppola@uconn.edu X
Cuevas Kimberly Psychology kimberly.cuevas@uconn.edu X Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience: EEG, ECG, Learning, Memory, Executive Functions
Dzhafarov Damir Mathematics damir@math.uconn.edu Mathematical logic, computability theory and reverse mathematics
Eigsti Inge-Marie Psychology inge-marie.eigsti@uconn.edu X
Fitch Holly Psychology roslyn.h.fitch@uconn.edu Animal models of neurodevelopment and cognition; Models of neurodevelopmental disruption (genetics, early injury) and developmental disability
Fowler Carol Psychology carol.fowler@uconn.edu x
Friesen Lendra Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences lendra.friesen@uconn.edu X cochlear implants, speech perception, electrophysiology, aging
Gajewski Jon Linguistics jon.gajewski@uconn.edu X
Garcia-Sierra Adrian Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences adrian.garcia-sierra@uconn.edu X Speech perception, language development, bilingualism, ERPs
Green James Psychology James.Green@UConn.edu X Development of prelinguistic communication
Green Mitchell Philosophy mitchell.green@uconn.edu X X Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, Pragmatics, Evolution of Communication, Animal Communication
Grela Bernard Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences bernard.grela@uconn.edu X SLI, language disorders, reading disabilities, phonological disorders
Gustafson Gwen Psychology gwen.gustafson@uconn.edu
Hart Elizabeth English elizabeth.hart@uconn.edu Cognitive linguistics, blending theory, dynamical systems theory, and applications of these areas to literary texts, literary history, and literary experience (creativity, reading, interpretation)
Hogan Patrick English patrick.hogan@uconn.edu X Emotion, simulation, and narrative; beauty and aesthetic response; social neuroscience, politics, and literature
van der Hulst Harry Linguistics harry.van.der.hulst@uconn.edu Phonological Theory, SL Phonology, Evolution of Language, Phonological Acquisition, Phonetics-Phonology Interface
Katz Leonard Psychology leonard.katz@uconn.edu X The reading process, dyslexia, printed word recognition
Kaufman James C. Educational Psychology james.kaufman@uconn.edu Creativity measurement; Creativity and social justice; Creativity and its relationship to other constructs (such as personality, intelligence, and motivation); Creativity theories; and Creativity and Mental Health.
Kaufmann Magdalena Linguistics magdalena.kaufmann@uconn.edu X Semantics, pragmatics, syntax-semantics interface
Kaufmann Stefan Linguistics stefan.kaufmann@uconn.edu X Semantics, Pragmatics, Computational Linguistics, Philosophy of Language, Cognitive Psychology
Ladha Ally Literatures, Cultures, and Languages ally.ladha@uconn.edu Philosophy and literature; aesthetics; literary theory; postcolonial studies; poetry (19th and 20th century French, francophone African, American, British, Latin American); Islamic studies (pre-Islamic poetry; Quranic studies; art and aesthetics; Islamic legal and political theory; African Islam); German romanticism.
Landi Nicole Psychology nicole.landi@uconn.edu
Large Edward Psychology edward.large@uconn.edu X Nonlinear dynamical systems; auditory neuroscience; music psychology
Lillo-Martin Diane Linguistics diane.lillo-martin@uconn.edu X Language acquisition, structure and acquisition of sign languages, bilingualism
Lynch Michael Philosophy mplynch@uconn.edu Representation, philosophy of mind
Magnuson Jim Psychology james.magnuson@uconn.edu X Cognitive psychology and cognitive neuroscience of language; computational modeling
Markus Etan Psychology etan.markus@uconn.edu X Behavioral neuroscience, physiology, learning, memory aging
Marsh Kerry Psychology kerry.l.marsh@uconn.edu X
McCartney Robert Computer Science & Engineering robert@engr.uconn.edu Artificial intelligence, robotics, computing education
Millikan Ruth Philosophy Ruth.Millikan@uconn.edu X
Moiseff Andy Physiology and Neurobiology andrew.moiseff@uconn.edu X
Myers Emily Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences; Psychology emilybmyers@gmail.com X Speech perception, cognitive neuroscience, neuroimaging, aphasia
Naigles Letitia Psychology letitia.naigles@uconn.edu X X Language representation, language acquisition, language in developmental disorders, cross-linguistic comparisons
Read Heather Psychology heather.read@uconn.edu X X Behavioral neuroscience of social communication including vocalizations
Rueckl Jay Psychology Jay.Rueckl@uconn.edu X
Salamone John Psychology john.salamone@uconn.edu X
Schneider Susan Philosophy susan.schneider@uconn.edu X Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Cognitive Science, Bioethics, Philosophy of Science
Shor Mikhael Economics mike.shor@uconn.edu Industrial organization & antitrust, experimental economics, auction theory
Skoe Erika Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences; Psychology erika.skoe@uconn.edu X
Snyder William Linguistics william.snyder@uconn.edu  X X Child Language Acquisition, Comparative Grammar, Models of Language Processing
Spaulding Tammie Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences tammie.spaulding@uconn.edu X X Language development; Specific Language Impairment
Sprouse Jon Linguistics jon.sprouse@uconn.edu X X
Tabor Whitney Psychology whit.tabor@uconn.edu X Dynamical systems theory, artificial neural networks, language (structure, processing, change, learning), sentence processing, artificial grammar, recursion, experimental semiotics, theory of computation.
Theodore Rachel Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences rachel.theodore@uconn.edu X Speech perception, spoken language processing, perceptual learning, dyslexia, hearing impairment
Urios-Aparisi Eduardo Literatures, Cultures, and Languages eduardo.urios-aparisi@uconn.edu X Cognitive linguistics, conceptual metaphor theory applied to cinema and art
Wagner Manuela Literatures, Cultures, and Languages manuela.wagner@uconn.edu X Early language development in “normal” and “exceptional” circumstances, second language acquisition, pragmatics, brain development
Wurmbrand Susanne Linguistics susanne.wurmbrand@uconn.edu X Syntax, semantics, Germanic
Xygalatas Dimitris Anthropology xygalatas@mac.com Ritual, cooperation, and the interaction between cognition and culture.
Yee Eiling Psychology eiling.yee@uconn.edu X Semantic memory/neural representation of concepts; spoken word recognition